Tuesday, May 23, 2006

Reader Sends in Fake Sidekick 3 eBay Auction

Update: Our readers are savvier than the people who send things in. We were sent this listing on eBay and it was suspect, but a horde of users smelled a fake and called it right. Turns out this guy didn't have the Photoshop skills he thought he did. Fooled me though. I mean, you can post ANYTHING on eBay right?

Earlier Post: "The proof is in the pics and you can go look up the seller yourself, his information is on there. The question is does Hiptopdeals really have a Sidekick 3 to sell or was he just yanking our collective chain? I think he was just messing around because if he really had one, I think he would have taken a picture instead of stealing the one from my blog."


At 7:48 AM, Anonymous BVL said...

First on the Blog. Just like I'll be the first one to get an SKIII

At 7:55 AM, Blogger LinuxGold said...


In your dreams. If you can beat McHammer, then I'll be proud for you. :)

Now I can't wait to land my hands on one!! GRRR

At 7:56 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Were these shots submitted to you, or did you happen to see the page yourself?

I'm wondering because in the picture with the phone in it, the title bar says Sidekick II Juicy Couture...I'm wondering if it's a fake :)

Argh...I've gone from checking this blog once a week, to once a day...And now I'm at about once an hour ;)

At 7:58 AM, Blogger LinuxGold said...

Lol, for me once every 1/2 hour at work. *mumbles* Such an obessive disorder that I have!

At 8:38 AM, Anonymous bananachunks said...

Yeah, nice AOL too...

At 8:38 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Way to go genius:

Blog owner: RWiLL40158@aol.com

Works at

Playcare Inc.
Designers and builders of safe, integrated and accessible playgrounds.
P.O. Box 394
Schomberg, Ontario
L0G 1T0
Tel: (905) 859-PLAY (7529)
Fax: (905) 859-1118
E-mail: rwill40158@aol.com
Website: http://www.playcareinc.com/

I like how he was "Paint" open with a doc called ebay too.


"- The email address this was sent from is listed as the contact for a company that designs and builds playground equipment in Ontario, Canada."

This guy is totally setting himself up for self pwning.

He's emailing himself, and even hiptop3.com, "insider news".

At 8:41 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Also, ebay user: hiptopdeals808 nor the auction # exist.

At 8:52 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...


The fonts on a real ebay auction page are totally different from this guys "supposed" auction by a user that doesn't exists, and an auction # that doesn't come up.

Even will a pulled auction, auction #'s will display that notice.

At 8:53 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

I like how the auction image shows the URL


but the cancelled page shows "Ebay.ca" logo.

At 8:54 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Also, notice the Auction Item # in the Title Bar on the auction page:


This supposed auction # is 9514330561

At 8:55 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

The auction is also for a Tmobile SK2 Juciy Couture, while his "page" is for a SK3.

Dude, give up the site. you're totally fucking pwnd

At 8:58 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...


That's auction he photoshopped. Same price, same item location and everything. Same meber date, and same auction end time.

At 3:59 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

stop stealing from hiptop3.com....they have all the real sources...

At 2:07 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

So anyways, I added RWILL40158 to my AIM buddy list and today i saw him online. Here is a snippet of the conversation.

ME:can i ask u a question?


Me: u made that fake ebay listing huh?


His dumb ass admitted it to me.
What a dumb fuck!


Post a Comment

<< Home